Tribute to Abelardo Morell

hormoz island, hormozgan, iran

2fr overlay

It’s almost three months that I’ve subscribed to the National Geographic Magazine in Farsi. This is the magazine that I don’t want to miss a paragraph, reading carefully, and It has great influence on me.

Here you can see a picture including two frames overlaid using blending options in CS6 Photoshop. The landscape is showing the colorful mountains of Hormoz island. The other frame is just a normal capture of the small rocks and salty soil on the ground where I took the landscape. It’s not the best shot, but I really like the technique.

In fact, I’ve copied the idea of “Tent Camera” by Abelardo Morell that I read in NG Magazine Nov-2013. He is a great photographer live in Massachusetts. Since 1991 he have converted rooms into Cam­era Obscuras to capture the strange contrast of the outside world with the room’s interior.

In an effort to find new ways to use this technique, I have worked with my assistant, C.J. Heyliger, on designing a light proof tent which can project views of the sur­round­ing landscape, via periscope type optics, onto the sur­face of the ground inside the tent. Inside this space I pho­to­graph the sand­wich of these two out­door real­i­ties meet­ing on the ground. Depend­ing on the qual­ity of the sur­face, these views can take on a vari­ety of painterly effects. The added use of dig­i­tal tech­nol­ogy on my camera lets me record visual moments in a much shorter time frame– for instance I can now get clouds and peo­ple to show up in some of the photographs.

This way of observ­ing the land­scape with spe­cially equipped tents was prac­ticed by some artists in the 19th cen­tury in order to trace on paper what they saw in the land­scape. Inter­est­ingly, this approach to pic­tur­ing the land was done even before the inven­tion of photography.

